What is a Sacrament?

The Sacraments are the “powers that come forth” from the Body of Christ, which is ever-living and life-giving. They are actions of the Holy Spirit at work in his Body, the Church. They are “the masterworks of God” in the new and everlasting covenant. There are seven sacraments in the Church which were “all instituted by Jesus Christ our Lord.” The sacraments strengthen and express our faith. Having died and risen, Christ is always present in the Church, especially in the sacraments; he is the source of our faith, the model of Christian conduct, and the Teacher of our prayer.

The Seven Sacraments

Click the tab for the sacrament you are interested in learning more about. Each tab will discuss about the sacrament, when you can receive the sacrament and what steps you may have to take to receive that sacrament for the first time. You will also find sacrament-related links to help you understand a little more about each sacrament. Here’s what the Catechism (1210-1211) and the Code of Canon Law (840-848) explains about the Seven Sacraments.